The Friends

The mission of The Friends of the Gale Academy of Environmental Science and Technology (Friends), an all-volunteer Board and independent nonprofit 501 (c) 3 organization, is to support the Academy. The Friends were incorporated in 1997 and since then, have supported the Academy through funding for field trips, equipment, providing mentors and speakers, science-fair judges, and scholarships. The Friends, working with the Community Foundation for Palm Beach and Martin Counties, annually awards college scholarships to outstanding graduating seniors. Since 2002 the Friends group has awarded more than $120,000 in scholarships, which are presented at the Nicholas Megrath Scholarship Dinner and Awards Program. The Nicholas Megrath Scholarship Fund was established by the Friends and the Megrath family to honor the memory of Nicholas, an academy student who was tragically killed just weeks before his graduation in a 1999 robbery at a restaurant in the Palm Beach Mall. In addition, a scholarship was established in 2008 to honor the memory of Leah G. Schad, a civic leader and passionate advocate for the environment, who also served as a member of the Friends. A number of other scholarships are also given each year. For more information on the Friends please call 561-346-3768, Email, or write to Friends, 3200 Summit Boulevard, #21686, West Palm Beach, FL 33416. Be a Friend.


Board Members of the Friends of the Gale Academy

Ed Buzanoski
Unay Cruz
Paul Davis, Secretary
Barbara Eriv
Patrick Gleason, Ph.D., Treasurer
Allison Hammill
Helen Hickman
Julia Jennison, President
Nichole Lynch-Cruz
Alfred Malefatto
Shawn McCall
Martha Musgrove
Erin Nocera
Kim Nuquist
Samara Osowiecki
Elizabeth Perez
Samantha Rice
Carol Stender
Mary Stratos
Dan Witt, Vice President

Honorary Board Members
Len Berry, Ph.D.
Mary Brandenburg
Jody Gleason
Brent Murray
Diane Megrath
Michael Megrath
Bobby Widell

Board Members in Memoriam
Mary E (Meg) Gale
Aaron Higer, Ph.D.
John Marshall
Lenore Rubinstein
Leah Schad
Nancy Widell